Martha Stewart Living is taking over Home Depot

22 03 2010

Honestly, I have never been the biggest fan of Martha Stewart.  I KNOW!  I really don’t know why that is.  She hasn’t done anything offensive to me so I just can’t put my finger on it.  It has always just been this feeling.  In all actuality her post prison persona hasn’t bothered me nearly as much as her persona before.  When she came out of the slammer it was like she could finally be who she really was and not what she thought everyone else expected her to be.  We are not talking Julia Child let loose and drop egg on the floor and say her infamous voice, “Never apologize-you can always put it together.”  But, she could finally relax and think ‘if these people followed me though that ordeal then I can certainly let loose a little.’

Anyhow, enough Martha bashing because I actually came here to praise her work.  When I heard that Home Depot was ending their long run with Ralph Lauren I was very disappointed.  Now that doesn’t mean that you can’t get his paint there anymore (they should still have all the mix instructions in their database if you have the color you need) it just means if you run into the store looking for a paint sample there won’t be one.  You can imagine that I was “thrilled” to learn that Martha was moving in to take over the vacant slot that RL left.  So when I stopped at the store a couple of weeks ago I swung past the paint department to check out the new spread.  I must say, I liked it.  I picked up the brochure that has small chips of all the colors and I can see all sorts of potential.  A few of my immediate favorites are: Bergamot (a pink, orange and red color mixed perfectly), Vermilion (a deep red shade), Toasted Marshmallow (a beautiful tan color), Sultana (green with a subtle yellow background), Purple Elderberry (very deep dark plum), Molasses and Burl (these are 2 very nice brown options), and finally Zinc and Seal (are 2 warm gray options that add nice balance to the palette.)  There are 280 colors in all and they can be mixed for either indoor or outdoor use.

I really like the names that she has for each color.  They are names that when I look at them I can actually see how they came up with that name.  Her paint names are things like Picket Fence, Spud (perfect color of the outside of a new potato) and Ballet Slipper Pink.  I have always thought picking paint color names sounded like the best job in the world, but I digress.  Anyway, they will have available sample jugs (8 oz) as a test to make certain you love the color before you bite the bullet and get the gallon.

Martha Stewart didn’t just stop at paint when it came to her Home Depot deal making.  She also included a line of environmentally friendly cleaning products, new home decor (both interior and exterior) and closet organization options.  She certainly says it right when she says, “It’s a good thing.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

