Quickie Inspired by Color

17 03 2010

This week for our quickie I wanted to share a personal photo as inspiration from our recent trip to New Zealand (back in September 2009).

I have this picture displayed on our wall in the living room.  No, it isn’t because it was the most thrilling moment of my life so far, which it was, but because the colors in the photograph are so vibrant.  If I hadn’t seen it with my very own eyes I would have thought this picture had been altered in a computer program like Photoshop.  It is truly one of the first times that I have ever looked at a body of water and thought that is exactly what it looked like in a photograph.  Now, I can’t say in the moments before this shot was taken that I thought, “wow, how pretty” because in all actuality I was thinking, “what in the heck prompted me to think this was a good idea?!  Gosh, how am I going to get out of this?”  Mind you, I was already strapped at the ankles with the bungy cord and standing on the ledge before these thoughts crossed my mind so after some stalling I realized that there was no turning back.  So I jumped.  Well, more like I leaned forward and fell off.  If you are interested in my jump off the Kawarau Bridge in Queenstown, New Zealand you can see the actual footage below.

Anyway, back to this week’s Quickie.  Since the water is the inspiration for our Quickie I figured why not use the bathroom as our muse since it is the room in the house the uses the most water. So without further ado, our calm, serene bathroom.

Here is our material board:

  1. Our color palette consists of clam colors in the green, turquoise, white and beige.  The wall color should be a nice basic tan that will complement all the other bright colors we have going on in the space.  Ralph Lauren makes a brilliant color: #NA38 Macaw that would be perfect for the walls so the bold colors will really pop.  A nice turquoise accent color would be Dunn Edwards/ # DE5767 Star City.
  2. This mirror has a nice simplicity with the rim being a wood trim that helps to enhance the colors in our room.
  3. The vanity is an all wood/painted white version that has a white granite top.  The style is very transitional and simple so it would fit into just about any bathroom and look great.
  4. These vanity lights are very simple but have an elegance about them.  They will look great for years to come.
  5. For the tub surround and backsplash above the vanity this tile will make a great accent.  The bold turquoise color will look fantastic with the tan background of the paint and the long rectangular shape will really help to add a modern updated feel to the bathroom walls.
  6. These faucets are perfect since they will blend in with the room.  I didn’t want anything too modern or fancy to make the vanity stand out so picked one with a low profile and nice soft nickel coloration.
  7. This white shower curtain will look great with the bright, bold turquoise tile behind it.  We don’t want too much color overtaking the space so subtle touches of color with neutral items really help to balance the room.
  8. Won’t this shelf look great painted the turquoise color of Dunn Edwards paint that I mentioned in item 1?!  Mounting this shelf above the toilet to keep extras in little containers makes this a perfect little storage option.
  9. These towels just help to pull the entire palette together.  They have various shades of green, white and blue and will look great in our bathroom.
  10. Lastly, we have all the accessories that go into the space.  The towel bars have a nice modern feeling while the rest have great color.  A trash can, tissue holder and tray all in that brilliant faux driftwood collection and the bright green mouthwash cup, soap dispenser and toothbrush holder are accents will really stand out and bring the whole space together without over powering the simplicity of the room.

There you have my take on being inspired by color.  Wasn’t that blue-green of the water marvelous?!  Makes me want to go back!!  Tell me about the most daring thing you have ever done on vacation?  Have you ever bungy-ed yourself?  If so, would you do it again?  Well, if this Quickie has inspired you to get started on a room of your own, click here and we will get you set up.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

